The I. Pot so far in 2016

IMG_4413

As the eyebright has just started to flower- it’s a late summer flowering species, no idea which one – and I haven’t written about my I.Pot for a while I thought I’d do a review of the year so far.

The thrift pretty much died at the beginning of the year…a final slow and steady decline. For whatever reason, I find thrift does not like being in a pot much more than a year. Here it is on the left (I still haven’t removed it) with some of the many eyebright seedlings.IMG_4420

Those eyebright seedlings have been pretty much that size since the end of May.

IMG_6521

The tiny spring vetch flowered and is now setting seed.

IMG_4416

Only one of the bee orchids flowered, but they self-pollinate

IMG_4031

IMG_4421and so seed is forming now. The two other bee orchids that flowered for the last two years were just small leaf rosettes this year, one getting a bit chomped by a snail.

IMG_4418

The small scabious is now flowering – the plant
has stayed small and is a bit spindly although the quaking grass and meadow oat-grass have bulked up and flowered well this year…perhaps the reason that other things have not done so well.

IMG_4424

So far this year then, moments of interest but generally looking a bit scruffy and a steady decline in the number of species growing present. I think I can see the signs of adult vine weevils too which might affect things further, but we will see.

This entry was posted in The I.Pot. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The I. Pot so far in 2016

  1. Julieanne says:

    That’s really interesting about thrift, and maybe explains why the ones I have in their own pots have died down after the first year. I keep hoping it will come back to life, but I guess it has kicked the bucket.

    • Martin says:

      When I grew the native thrift in pots as part of a wildflower nursery I always found they were great the first year, but always gradually died off after that. I just think they like to have their feet in the soil.

Leave a Reply

